top of page
Search
  • jaynebooth68

Counselling - what's it all about?


There is a lot of talk about mental health following the pandemic and subsequent lock downs. Counselling is part of that conversation. But what is it and why choose to go into it? For me, counselling is a space where you can come to explore who you are, what experiences in life have you had, what patterns of behaviour do you demonstrate and where did it come from. It is also a safe non-judgemental space where you will be accepted irrespective of what emotion, thought or feeling you may have. I am curious about who you are and as you're the expert on you, I would like you to teach me, to show me, so we can explore together to figure out which parts work, which bits hurt, and how to manage it all. I was once informed by a client that I have a strange job. I suppose in some ways I do. I listen, truly listen to all you wish to tell me. I will be curious and ask questions, some which might be difficult or painful - but you can choose whether to answer or not. I will reflect on my experience of you, considering your body language, how you say certain things, or how you are with me. All of this will give us a full picture of who you are. It can be a scary process, but it can also be freeing and healing to be fully seen by someone who will accept you fully. Every counselling session is different. It may begin slowly as I will work to gain your trust as that foundation grows, the working relationship will change and so will you. The client does not have to fit the counselling provided; the counselling must fit the client.

Counselling will change you and in turn this will lead to change within your world. It can lead to more positive, healthy relationships; changes in mood; changes in coping strategies; and many more.

After such a difficult period in the world's history, it is, perhaps, even more important to take care of our mental health which is why counselling is an integral part of this care.


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page