top of page
Search
  • jaynebooth68

Choose wisely......


You have been considering it for some time and you've decided to have some counselling - a courageous decision in itself, but how do you choose who to work with?

The problem is in the UK, anyone can call themselves a counsellor or a psychotherapist. Shocking isn't it? A person doesn't have to have any qualifications, they can just create a website and begin advertising their services. Not only is it shocking, it is also dangerous. This is where real harm can be done.

Unqualified counsellors are not able to work with


clients in a non-oppressive or non-judgemental way. Indeed, the 'therapy' will probably be all about them and not the client.

What makes me different? I went through a lot of training before I even sat with my first client. My degree course not only included the academic side of things, but a


lso, I had to have personal therapy, placement hours, and supervision. Personal therapy for a counsellor is crucial to the work with clients. Why? Well, it means the counsellor is grounded, aware of their 'own stuff' and able to reflect on how they experience the working relationship. All extremely valuable for clients.

Placement hours are rich experience for any trainee counsellor. I had to achieve 450 hours to graduate. I was fortunate enough to have my placement in Norwich MIND, I am eternally grateful for the opportunity to work with so many amazing people.

I would ask if you value yourself enough to consider counselling, please do some research and check a counsellor is qualified, has insurance, and is registered with a professional body. All of which will protect you and give you a life-changing experience.

For more information the BACP and ITV co-created this piec


e...





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page